Posted on

“Never saw no miracle of science that didn’t always end up as something worse.”

never let me go

 

It’s been about 3 days since I finished this book and I’m still not entirely sure how I feel about it. This is first book by Kazuo Ishigiro. This review will be a little more succinct than my typical review because it’s hard to go too deep into the plot without spoiling things. The basic story follows Kathy, Ruth and Tommy; three friends who are students at a school called Hailsham and the years after they move on from their education. It becomes apparent pretty quickly that there is something very different about Hailsham and its students. I figured out pretty quickly how things were going to go and how it would likely end but this in no way effected my enjoyment of it. While I can’t say I enjoyed this book which is deeply sad, it is beautifully written. It’s not the emotional gut punch of watching “Requiem for a Dream” but there is a pervading sense of quiet sadness throughout the book from beginning to end.

Leave a Reply

