Posted on

The WomanGirl on the Cabin 10 Train

the-woman-in-cabin-10

 

I picked up this book on a recommendation from one of the Book Riot podcasts that said it was a great closed door mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie. While it certainly was a closed door mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie, I’d probably only call it fair to good rather than great. The premise is great and there are some moments of real tension and suspense. But I found the execution somewhat lacking and I saw the “twist” coming pretty early on.

The story follows Laura “Lo” Blacklock, a travel reporter who is trying to rebuild her career after a serious bout of clinical depression nearly got her fired. She’s given a chance to report on the maiden voyage of an exclusive high end cruise ship. The first night of the voyage, Lo believes she hears the woman next door in the titular Cabin 10 being murdered and thrown overboard only to discover, when she calls ship security, that no one is staying next door. Like most protagonists in mystery novels, Lo is unable to let go of the problem and continues to search for clues. She is hampered by the fact that she drank to much the night of the alleged murder and by a home invasion that occurred shortly before the voyage started making her an unreliable witness in the eyes of the ship’s security officer.

I really wanted to like this book more than I did. It was fine. It was a perfectly good mystery story. I really don’t think it deserved the hype it got. Like I said above; it’s good but certainly not great.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s