Posted on

I want Tina Fey to be my boss

bossypants

 

Reasons to read this book:

1. You’re a fan of Tina Fey
2. You’re a fan of smarty, funny women in general

Reasons not to read this book:

1. You want all sorts of dirt on celebrities she’s worked with
2. Smart, funny women make you uncomfortable.

I was certainly familiar with Tina Fey’s body of work and, like many other women, I related to Liz Lemon. I’ve also been adding many biographies of women I admire to my To Be Read Mountain lately and this one is the first one I’ve tackled. To say I enjoyed the ever loving hell out of it would be a gross understatement. Ms. Fey’s writing style made it a pleasure to blaze through this book over the course of a couple of weekends. She highlights some of the formative events in her life and the people who influenced her the most. Her humor is classic Tina Fey; simultaneously subtle and rapid fire.

Many people, when they admire someone, say they want to go for drinks with a particular person. I don’t want to have drinks with Tina Fey. I want to have a working lunch, where we eat cheeseburgers and she imparts her hilarious wisdom on me. As a firm believer in sharing good books, I immediately lent this book to a co-worker/friend for both her and her 16 year old daughter to read.

Leave a Reply

