Posted on

March Book Purchases

Truth be told I prefer paper to digital books, but the digital are so damn cheap and portable. I may have to slow down the book buying next month. My car needs an inspection and I know new brakes will be involved.

 

Kindle Books

March 1

The Light of the Fireflies by Paul Pen-This was one of the free offerings for March for Amazon Prime members. Hopefully I don’t get duped into reading Christian fiction again.

March 5

Yes Please by Amy Poehler-This has been on my Amazon wishlist since it came out.  I snatched it up immediately at $1.99

March 6

The Ice Storm by Rick Moody-I saw the film years ago and liked it quite a bit. Naturally the book must be much better, right.

March 7

Beasts of No Nation by Uzodinma Iweala-Netflix has been promoting the hell out of the film.  So naturally I bought the book.  Also I’ve read almost no African literature, so it’s probably time to start.

March 8

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle-Free Sherlock Holmes!

March 9

The Death House by Sarah Pinborough-I broke one of my rules for spending money on a Kindle book. I bought it simply because it sounded interesting.  If I did that every time a book sounded interesting I’d be broke. I guess I figured I’d purchased books for the past five days, so why the hell not.

March 13

Earthbound (The Reach Book 1) by Mark R. Healy-This one was free and recommended by a friend. I’m always looking for good SciFi and Fantasy series.

March 14

Anger is an Energy: My Life Uncensored by John Lydon-Autobiography of a punk rock legend for only 2 bucks. Yes ma’am!

March 17

The Man Who Was Thursday: A Nightmare by G.K. Chesterton-A Neil Gaimen recommended author and zero cost.

March 19

Mother’s Day by Dennis McDougal-Recommended by some fellow true crime fans.

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards book 1)-Another one to knock of the Amazon wishlist and another recommended fantasy series.

March 22

City of Darkness (City of Mystery Book 1) by Kim Wright-Free and recommended by a friend. Also hooray for a female author!

March 25

Triangle: The Fire that Changed America-A historic tragedy that I’ve always been fascinated with.

March 26

Madam Blavatksy: The Woman Behind the Myth by Marion Mead-She’s a fascinating character and I know almost nothing about her.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman-A great one to knock of the Amazon wishlist for only a couple of bucks.

March 27

Lost Girls: An Unsolved American Mystery-Last but not least. This is another one recommended by my True Crime Book Club.

 

Thriftbooks.com

I had to buy a particular book for my book club. Thriftbooks gives free shipping with a $10 purchase, so naturally I had to get ten bucks worth of books

The Jeffrey Dahmer Story: An American Nightmare-Book club book

Bossypants-by Tina Fey-Between this, Tina Fey and Madam Blavatsky, I’m doing well with fascinating women this month.

The Fever: A Novel by Megan Abbott-Another one of the Amazon Wishlist for only $3.50

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

